Gym Freebies to Hack your Fitness Journey

05/13/24 - Monday

Happy start of a new week, friends! 🤗

Something Kim said last week made me (Misti) realize how many of us are on concurrent journeys, focused not just on our financial wellbeing, but our physical and mental wellbeing also.

In my current season of life, I’m personally on a debt-payoff journey and a health journey that prioritizes improving my cardio health.

I’d love to go to Orangetheory every day (I’m obsessed!), but I simply can’t afford it.

Especially now that I’m also on a nomad journey, it’s hard to justify paying for a full membership when I’m unsure if a studio is easily accessible everywhere I’m “living.”

So, I dropped my membership down to the basic package and am spending the next few months “hacking” my fitness– I’m signing up for all the free classes I can find!!

I’ve rounded up a few freebies to help us get our sweat on.

💪🏼 Registration opens today for Planet Fitness’s High School Summer Pass ‘24! Teens aged 14-19 can work out for FREE all summer long! And don’t forget, anyone can try out Planet Fitness with a free day pass! 

🏋🏻‍♀️ You can test out 24 Hour Fitness FREE for 3 days, as long as you haven’t been a member in the last 6 months.

🦾 Anytime Fitness provides FREE trials of either 1 or 7 days, plus a 3 month Apple Fitness+ membership!

🧘🏻‍♀️ Be sure to check your local boutique fitness studios for specials, as most offer at least your first class for FREE if not a whole week. That’s how I first got into Orangetheory, Pure Barre, and Club Pilates!

📜 Don’t forget your local YMCA can be a great resource for affordable fitness. And did you know locations, like YMCA of East Tennessee, might offer scholarships to help cover membership costs? 

Pro-tip: Check your health insurance benefits to see if you’re eligible for any gym fee/fitness membership reimbursements. I once had a policy that reimbursed over $400 of my fees!

PLUS… while gym membership fees are usually not eligible for Health Savings Account (HSA) reimbursement, some folks can receive an exception if your medical care provider deems exercise to be required to alleviate a medical condition. Learn more about that from the HSA Store.

🩳 Biker Shorts Bill 🩳

I don’t know about you, but I am very specific about the type of workout clothes I can handle working out in (Mono B biker shorts for the win).

If I’m not comfortable, I’m not doing it. Unfortunately, good gear can really add up. I find a lot of great deals on high quality secondhand options. 😉

It’s even easier with Beni, a FREE browser extension that searches the top secondhand sites to find comparable secondhand options on any clothing item you’re looking for. **

Do you regularly “strip” your workout clothes while doing laundry? 💥

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Cheers,
Misti

⭐️⭐️ P.S. Want to share all this goodness with your friends AND earn cool Frugal Friends merch?

**Means this is a sponsored or affiliate section. We may earn a small fee or commission when you choose to try one of our sponsor or affiliate partners. But opinions are still 1000% our own.