8/18/23 - Friday

Brought to you by:
🧼Bubbles 🧼

When it comes to discretionary spending, impulse purchases can be our biggest downfall. 👎

That alongside, simply wanting to enjoy life, it can be hard to turn down an item or activity that seems appealing for the sake of saving money.

I (Jill) for one don’t like the feeling of deprivation and especially after a long, taxing week 💆 I certainly don’t want to tell myself ‘no’ to doing something that looks fun.

After all, I’m an adult who worked hard for this money.

Welcome to my inner monologue.

And while it’s true, I am an adult and I do make money, there are some spending decisions that will ultimately benefit me and some spending decisions that are NOT in my best interest.

Deciphering between the 2 is critical.

I have found these questions to be helpful for me in reframing my spending decisions and finding a blueprint for how I choose to manage my resources (including money).

  • “What am I saying ‘yes’ to later if I say ‘no’ now?” 👌

  • Or even better…flip that around: “What am I saying ‘no’ to later if I say ‘yes’ now? 🚫

Saying better ‘yeses’ makes the ‘no’s’ much more manageable, and oftentimes even painless!

Are you earning six figures but still feeling like it's not enough? Our Tuesday episode— What to Do When You Feel Broke With a Six-Figure Income —unpacks this experience and provides valuable insights for improving your financial mindset.

If you’re dreaming of a Disney vacation but concerned about how much it costs, we feel ya. We’ve got a really special interview for you as we interview Lou Mongello about Doing Disney on a Budget. For anyone who has never been, or our friends who go regularly, we've got some money-saving tips to help you experience the magic for less.

Tune in wherever you get podcasts and let us know what you thought of the episode over on our latest Instagram post!

Jill’s picks for a stellar weekend.

 Watch This: Hack my Home on Netflix. Love this series for rethinking your current space and what you already have

 Listen to This: Carly Rae Jepsen. In honor of Wednesday’s email about lowering our cell phone bills, the singer of ‘Call Me Maybe’ has some other bangers! I am diggin’ her 2022 album (The Loneliest Time) but she did just release a new album!

 Read This: The Rabbit Listened (easy find at most libraries) ...because children’s books are adorable. And profound.

 Do This: Go Geocaching!! August 19th is literally geocaching day so download the app and get out there and explore!

 Meal Plan This: The Modern Proper has curated a thoughtful list of hot dog topping combos. I am personally here for the street corn hot dog.

This Friendletter is brought to you by:
🧼Bubbles🧼

These magical floating hollow pop-able soap balls mesmerize and excite everyone, young and old. Need to entertain a toddler for 20 minutes? BUBBLES! Need a break from work? BUBBLES? Want to find more amazing things and even magical people?

Meet our friends, Hope and Larry. This frugal family raised four boys debt-free on an income of about $40,000, including paying cash for their home. Want the secrets they used to spend less and save more (without eating ramen every night or living like hermits)? Grab a copy of their free eBook, "10 Ways to Radically Reduce Your Expenses."

It’s our last merch poll! If you missed any of our polls this week you can simply open the email and vote in the poll through the end of the weekend to make your voice heard.

These cute sweatshirts are your reward when you refer 50 friends to sign up for The Friendletter. REMEMBER, these are like 80% designed. We’ll finish them based on YOUR vote.

Living my life

Basic bombshell

Best friend energy

Frugal friend energy

Which of these sweatshirts do you want to keep you warm this winter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Until next time,

⭐️⭐️ P.S. Did your friend send you this? You can sit with us! Click here to be our friend and we'll send you more gems like this every week (for FREE!) to your inbox.